Diesel Engine Firing Order [With Diagram]

You can check out the firing order for Diesel Engine written below. We have included the firing orders of other similar engines as well including 4 cylinder diesel engine & firing order of 6 cylinder engine pdf.

Note that this sequence has been tested for the Diesel Engine by our team. This firing order will help you set the correct sequence of ignition so you face no problems in the future.

Diesel Engine Firing Order

  • Firing Order for Diesel Engine is 1-3-4-2

Diesel Engine Firing Order Diagram

The firing order in a diesel engine refers to the order in which fuel injection and combustion take place in the cylinders. In contrast to gasoline engines, diesel engines rely on compression ignition rather than spark plugs.

The design and arrangement of a diesel engine often dictate the firing order. Unlike gasoline engines, diesel engines don’t have a set firing order diagram, however, a common firing order for a diesel engine with many cylinders is 1-3-4-2. To ensure effective and balanced combustion, this shows the order in which fuel is injected and ignited in the cylinders.

Firing Order Applies To

The 1-3-4-2 firing order applies to Diesel Engines, such as:

  • Cummins 4BT
  • Perkins 100 Series (e.g., 103-10, 103-13, 103-15)
  • Isuzu 4JB1
  • Mitsubishi 4D56
  • Toyota 2C

Torque Specifications

Vehicle NameHorsepower/RPM Torque/RPM
4BT Cummins105@2,300 rpm265@1,600 rpm
Mitsubishi 4D56148@6,000 rpm145@4,200 rpm
Volkswagen Golf170@4,500 rpm200@1,600 rpm

What is the Firing Order of a 2 Cylinder Diesel Engine?

The firing order of a standard 2-cylinder diesel engine is typically 1-2. This implies that the first cylinder ignites first, followed by the second cylinder in turn. Since there are only two cylinders in a 2-cylinder diesel engine, the firing sequence is simple and includes switching off combustion events between the two cylinders.

It is significant to note that certain engine designs and configurations can vary, so it is advised to examine the documentation or service manual provided by the engine manufacturer for exact firing sequence information.

What is The Firing Order On a 5 Cylinder Diesel?

Depending on the particular engine model and manufacturer, the firing order of a 5-cylinder diesel engine can change. Although there isn’t a universal firing order for 5-cylinder diesel engines, the firing order 1-2-4-5-3 is frequently used. This indicates that the first cylinder, which is numbered 1, ignites first, then the second, fourth, fifth, and last cylinders. A certain 5-cylinder diesel engine model’s precise firing order can be found in the documentation or service manual provided by the engine manufacturer.

What is the Firing Order Of an Engine 1 3 4 2?

In a variety of four-cylinder engines, the firing order “1-3-4-2” is frequently utilized. It shows the order in which an engine’s cylinders ignite for each cycle of combustion.

The first cylinder, the third, the fourth, and then the second cylinder all ignite in this firing order. Although this firing order is typical, it is crucial to keep in mind that certain engine models or setups may call for exceptions or changes.

Check out Mopar 440 Firing Order

Engines with Similar Firing Orders

  • Volkswagen Golf
  • Ford Focus
  • Honda Civic
  • Mazda3
  • Toyota Corolla

Jake Mayock