Cleveland 351 Firing Order [With Diagram]

The Ford Motor Company produced a family of engines known as the Ford 335 during its history. The 351C, which debuted in 1969 for the 1970 model year and is more popularly known as the 351 Cleveland, has been given this name. It is important to emphasize the following points about the new 351 V-8 canted valve engines:

  1. The newest advances in precise thin-wall casting processes were used to create a computer-designed, smaller, and broader cylinder block.
  2. Valves have big bodies and compounded canting to maximize inlet and emission stream volume for enhanced ventilation, flow, and thermal efficiency.
  3. Huge oval apertures on the intake manifold let the engine hot up fast and recycle more heat when required.
  4. Using lighter pistons with a wide intake valve clearance cutout improves airflow and allows for a larger charge of the fuel-air combination into the cylinders.
  5. Nodular iron crankshafts with five main bearings allow for lighter, stronger crankshafts.

351 Cleveland firing order

  • The firing order for the 351 Cleveland engine is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8

Explanation of 351 Cleveland firing order

351 Cleveland’s firing order is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. This means that this engine is a V8 engine with 8 cylinders. This is because there will be a huge decrease in the amount of vibration felt throughout the whole engine. You can see how critical it is to get the engine started in a certain order.

Using the correct spark plugs can ensure a smooth operation of the Ford 351C if the firing sequence is followed. You will know that the engine is firing in the right sequence when the spark plug wires are disconnected, which occurs, for example, when spark plugs are being replaced.

Before taking the wires out of the plugs, they must be marked to ensure the right firing sequence. 302 Windsor firing order is also the same as 351 Cleveland. How the spark plugs light up determines the firing sequence of the cylinders in a gasoline engine. It is the sequence in which the fuel is pumped into each cylinder of diesel engines, and its name relates to the sequence.

Ford Motor Company ensures that every engine it manufactures has a certain firing sequence. Accordingly for the 351C which is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8 which means that a cylinder with the digit 1 starts the cycle followed by cylinders 3 and 7. This cycle ends at cylinder 8. 351 Cleveland firing order diagram will give a perfect yet simple description of how this works.

This firing order applies to:

  1. Ford 351
  2. 5.0L EFI
  3. 5.4L
  4. 5.8L V8

Torque Specifications

Fastener Type Torque Spec
Main Cap Bolts 95-105 ft.-lbs.
Connecting Rod Bolts 40-45 ft.-lbs. (45-50 ft.-lbs. for Boss 351C)

351 Cleveland Firing Order

Firing order for similar vehicles:

  • Porsche 928   1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8
  • Ford Modular V-8  1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8
  • 5.0 H.O 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8
  • L410 V8 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8

Check Out 350 TBI Firing Order

What is the difference between the 351 Cleveland and the 351 Windsor engines?

The 351 Cleveland and 351 Windsor are both Ford V8 engines, but they have some key differences:

Cylinder head design

The 351 Cleveland has larger, canted valve heads with a wedge-shaped combustion chamber.

Compression ratio

The 351 Cleveland has a higher compression ratio than the 351 Windsor, which contributes to its higher horsepower and torque output.

Block design

The 351 Cleveland has a taller deck height and wider block than the 351 Windsor. This allows for larger bore sizes and greater displacement.

Connecting rod length 

The 351 Cleveland has a longer connecting rod than the 351 Windsor, which helps reduce piston side loading and improves engine balance.

How do I troubleshoot ignition problems on a 351 Cleveland engine?

Here are the steps to troubleshoot ignition problems on a Ford 351 Cleveland engine:, first Check the battery, Always be careful regarding battery charging. Always check that the terminals are clean and tight. Then, Check the ignition coil The ignition coil functions properly if the plugs are attached properly. Make sure to always check the primary and secondary coils using a multimeter.

By following these steps, you can troubleshoot ignition problems on a Ford 351 Cleveland engine and determine the cause of the issue.

Why does the firing order of 351 Cleveland matter?

The firing sequence of an engine must be precisely timed so that the system is exposed to the least amount of vibrations feasible. The transmission of engine vibrations should be maintained to a minimum in cars to provide a comfortable ride for the driver and passengers and to prevent them from feeling the vibrations transmitted by the engine.

Specially designed camshafts may also help boost performance. A performance engine builder may use these camshafts to create a motor that runs more smoothly, distributes fuel more evenly, and lasts longer in terms of the crankshaft and main bearings.

Check Chevy 235 Firing Order 

How Are 351 Cleveland Cylinders Numbered?

A depiction of Ford Motor Company may be seen on each of the cylinder’s four sides. You will be able to tell which of your cylinders are your two best, which are your two worst, which of your cylinders are your third worst, and which of your cylinders is your fourth best by looking at the genuine left-hand side of your engine.

What is the firing order for old 351 Cleveland engines?

The firing order of 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8 has proved fruitful as it provides the most efficiency from the engine. So this contributes to the decision not to change it throughout the years. This means the very popular 1970 351 Cleveland and 1973 Mustang 352 Cleveland firing order is also 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8.

Try Out D16Y7 Firing Order


Jake Mayock