Ford 400 Firing Order [With Diagram]

The Ford 400 is a type of motor with a specific order for when it makes sparks to run the engine. This order is called the firing order. Different years of the Ford 400 have different firing orders. For example, the firing order for the 1978 and 1979 Ford 400 motors is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. The firing order for the 1976 and 1977 Ford 400 motors is 1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8. And for the 1980 Ford 400 motor, the firing order is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8, like the 1978 and 1979 models.

Ford 400 timing is when the spark plugs fire to the movement of the engine. When the timing is set correctly, the engine runs smoothly. The modified firing order for the Ford 400 is that the sparks’ order is changed to help the engine run better. Ford 6.6 400 is a specific type of Ford 400 motor with a 6.6-liter capacity.

Firing order for Ford 400

The firing order for Ford 400 engine is 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2

Explanation of Ford 400 firing order

A Ford 400 engine fires its spark plugs in a certain order known as the firing order. The firing order for the Ford 400 engine is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. When the spark plugs fire, they make a small explosion inside the engine that helps it run. Each spark plug needs to fire in order at the right time so the engine runs smoothly and has no problems.

The firing order applies to

  • Non-HO Ford 302 engine
  • HO Ford 302 engine
  • Ford 5.4 engine
  • Ford 5L V8 VIN “P” engine
  • Ford 5L V8 VIN “N” engine

Torque Specifications

BellHousing To Engine Block39644.74
Bracket/Stay To Timing Chain/Belt Cover​55262.37
Camshaft To Cylinder Head22825.76

How do I identify a Ford 400 engine?

A checkable engine code can be found on the passenger side of the engine block. The code for a Ford 400 engine is usually D8AE or D9TE. You can also look for the engine’s displacement, which is 400 cubic inches.

What is the firing order of a 351C Ford?

The firing order of a Ford 351C engine is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8.

Check out Distributor Cap Firing Order

What is the Ford 4 cylinder’s firing order?

The firing order of most Ford 4-cylinder engines is 1-3-4-2.

Firing Orders for similar vehicles

  • Ford 390 engine: 1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8
  • Ford 4.6 V8 engine: 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8
  • Ford 351 engine: 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8
  • Ford 351W engine: 1-3-5-7-2-6-5-4-8

How can you distinguish a 351M from a 400?

You can check the engine code for the difference between a Ford 351M and a 400 engine. The code for a Ford 351M engine is usually D2AE or D4AE, while the code for a 400 engine is usually D8TE or D9TE. Check the engine’s displacement as well.

You can look for other unique features of each engine, such as the shape of the valve covers or the type of cylinder head. By looking at these things, you can distinguish a 351M engine from a 400 engine.


Jake Mayock
Latest posts by Jake Mayock (see all)