Straight 6 Firing Order 【With Diagram】

A piston engine having six cylinders that are aligned in a straight line all along the crankshaft is called a straight-six engine. This kind of engine is also known as the inline-six engine and may be written as I6 or L6. There are much fewer vibrations produced by a straight-six engine compared to those produced by other designs with six cylinders or fewer that have the same number of cylinders.

Chevy’s straight 6 firing order and Ford’s straight 6 firing order are the same: 1-5-3-6-2-4. Since the 1960s, V6 engines began to gain popularity, and by the turn of the century, many straight-six engines had already been replaced by their V6 counterparts. One company that bucked this trend was BMW, which began manufacturing automobile straight-six engines in 1933 and has continued to do so up until the current day.

When the cylinders are fired in the correct sequence, a straight-six engine may achieve both main and auxiliary engine balance that is flawless. The fundamental reason for the engine’s balance is that the front and rear sets of triple cylinders operate in pairs, which eliminates the rocking motion that is often produced by a straight-three configuration.

Straight 6 Firing Order

  • Firing Order: 1-5-3-6-2-4.

Explanation of Straight 6 Firing Order

According to the diagram of straight 6 firing order, which is written as 1-5-3-6-2-4, the cylinder with the number 1 is the first one to be lit, followed by the cylinder with the number 5, and so on until you reach the cylinder with the number 6. If you can commit the firing order for a 1990 Ford F150 Straight 6 engine to memory, it will be much simpler for you to identify faults that manifest themselves inside your Straight 6 engine and do any necessary small repairs on your own.

The physical location of the cylinders inside the engine is the primary factor that decides the order in which the cylinders of an internal combustion engine in a Straight 6 will be lit. This is one of the key factors that define the order in which the cylinders will be ignited. While operating the machine, the following is the proper sequence in which to fire the cylinders, which are numbered one through six: 1-5-3-6-2-4.

If you mess up the firing order for the 235 straight 6, your engine won’t operate as smoothly or as effectively as it otherwise might. This is the major reason why it is so crucial to get it right in the first place, which is why it is so vital to get it correct from the start.

Firing Order Applies to:

  • TVR Speed Six.
  • BMW N55/S55.
  • BMW M88.
  • Cummins 6BT.
  • Jaguar XK6.
  • Ford Barra.
  • Nissan RB26DETT.
  • Toyota 2JZ.

Torque Specifications

Fastener TypeTorque Spec
7/16 in. Outer Main Cap Bolt70 ft.-lbs.
7/16 in. Inner Main Cap Bolt75 ft.-lbs.
3/8 in. Outer Main Cap Bolt35 ft.-lbs.
11/32 in. Connecting Rod Bolt38-44 ft.-lbs.
3/8 in. Connecting Rod Bolt40-45 ft,-lbs.

Firing Order For Similar Vehicles:

  • Jaguar E-Type 1-5-3-6-2-4.
  • Toyota Supra 1-5-3-6-2-4.
  • Nissan Skyline GT-R 1-5-3-6-2-4.
  • BMW M3 1-5-3-6-2-4.

Do all inline 6 have the same firing order?

The standard Jeep straight-6 engine firing order is usually 1-5-3-6-2-4 or 1-4-2-6-3-5. When designing a multi-cylinder engine, the firing sequence must be organized in such a way as to ensure that the compressive moment is balanced and the load is distributed evenly along the longitudinal axis of the crankshaft.

Is a straight 6 more powerful than a V6?

It also has a higher price, which is another factor that led to its displacement by the V6 engine in many of the firms that manufacture automobiles. Despite this, the inline-six provides more powerful and dependable engines than the V6. Automobiles that are meant to last for a long time and be capable of towing make use of it.

Jake Mayock