Rover V8 Firing Order [With Diagram]

The Rover v8 engine, originally designed and produced by General Motors but later on produced by Rover in the UK, is a compact v8 combustion engine. It also has an aluminum cylinder block and cylinder heads. The Rover v8 was introduced in 1967 by Rover and ever since then, it has not only been used by Rover but by other manufacturers for use in their vehicles as well. It has been around for quite some time which most likely means that it had its firing orders changed from time to time.

The land rover 4-cylinder firing order has changed a lot. The land rover 3.9 v8 firing order is 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2. The 2006 range rover firing order is 1-2-7-3-4-5-6-8. The 2014 range rover firing order and the 2015 range rover firing order remain the same. The same case applies to the 2014 range rover 30 firing order.

Firing order of Rover v8

The firing order for Rover V8 engine is 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2

Explanation of Rover V8 firing order

The land rover 3.9 v8 firing order is 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2 which means that the first cylinder will be ignited first and then the eighth cylinder, and then the fourth, third, sixth, fifth, seventh, and second cylinder. All cylinders of the engine are given a number when manufactured. The firing order represents the number of the cylinder and at what sequence they will be ignited.

Now if we look at the 2006 range rover firing order and the 2014 range rover firing order, we will see that their firing order sequence is 1-2-7-3-4-5-6-8 which is different than the other one. Understanding the new firing order isn’t difficult. The new firing order means that the first cylinder will be ignited first, then the second, the seventh, and so on.

The numbers represent what cylinder will be ignited next. Manufacturers change firing orders from time to time as different firing orders can lead to better performance of the vehicle.

The Firing order applies to

  • Ford Mustang.
  • Jaguar F-Type.
  • Range Rover.
  • Audi RS6 Avant.
  • BMW M5.
  • Mercedes-AMG C63.

Torque Specifications

Main Cap Bolts95-105 ft.-lbs.
Connecting Rod Bolts40-45 ft.-lbs
Cylinder Head Bolts105 ft.-lbs
Rocker Arms (Non-adjustable)18-22 ft.-lbs.
5/16 in. Intake Manifold Bolts21-25 ft.-lbs.

What is the cylinder sequence for a v8?

The most common cylinder sequence for v8 engines is usually 1-2-3-4 for the left bank and 5-6-7-8 for the right bank. Audi, Porsche, and Ford generally use this sequence for most of their vehicle which has a V8 installed in them.

What engine firing order is 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2?

The most common firing order for v8 engines is 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2. This firing order is most commonly used in older v8 engines which are mostly used in Chevy, Buick, AMC, and other vehicles.

How many v8 firing orders are there?

There are eight different firing orders for the v8 engine that you can use. Those eight firing order combinations are based on an engine configuration of a 90-degree V8 block.

Check Out 429 Ford Firing Order

Can you change the firing order?

You can change the firing order of your v8 engines whenever you’d like. To do that, swapping the firing order of an engine requires you to change the order of valve actuation with the help of a special camshaft. By doing so, you will not only be able to change the firing order of the engine but the ignition order of the engine as well.

Jake Mayock